Synopsis of Saturday Morning Show

Author R.L. Stine created a grade school literary phenomenon with the debut of his Goosebumps books in 1992. A horror series for kids aged 8-11, the Goosebumps books were scary enough to give young readers a chill, but tame enough that they didn’t have to go into therapy. By 1994, Stine had released dozens of successful Goosebumps titles, with over 45 million copies in print. The next fall (only four days before Halloween), the series moved to television.

The premiere episode, “The Haunted Mask,” featured a Halloween mask with a mind of its own. In the 69 episodes that followed, viewers chilled to tales of werewolves, zombies, ghosts, and endless haunted locales. Among the more popular segments—all of which were adapted from Stine’s books—were “Fever Swamp,” "Revenge of the Lawn Gnomes," “A Night in Terror Tower,” and the “Camp Nightmare” series.

The Goosebumps magic carried over from book to television, and the series became a multi-season hit. The show finally finished its original run in the closing months of 1998, but the books continued strong, selling upwards of 220 million copies and eclipsing such literary stalwarts as The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew. The series has continued into the 00’s, releasing chilling tales under the Goosebumps 2000 line.

Release History

10/27/95 - 11/16/98 Fox

TV Sub Categories


TV Studio

Fox Children's Network

Television Cast

Piccolo Scott McNeil
Voices Don Brown
Voices Ted Cole
Voices Paul Dobson
Voices Brian Drummond
Voices Andrew Francis
Voices Paulina Gillis
Voices Doc Harris
Voices Saltron Henderson
Voices Mark Hildreth
Voices Terry Klassen
Voices Lalainia Lindjberg
Voices Laara Nadiq
Voices Pauline Newstone
Voices Doug Parker
Voices Jane Perry
Voices Ward Perry
Voices Alvin Sanders
Voices Matt Smith
Voices Jason Gray Stanford
Voices Jerry Todd
Voices Dave 'Sasquatch' Ward
Voices Cathy Weseluck
Voices Alec Willows

Other Saturday Morning Links