The Shaggy D.A.

The Shaggy D.A.

Synopsis of Movie

Nearly twenty years after its wild and wooly hit The Shaggy Dog, Disney revived the premise for a sequel. The Shaggy D.A. starred Dean Jones as Wilby Daniels, the part Tommy Kirk played in the original. An all-new cast replaced Kirk, Fred MacMurray and the rest, as a grown-up Wilby entered the world of down and dirty politics.

Wilby is running for district attorney against the crooked incumbent John Slade. The campaign goes swimmingly until that pesky Borgias ring shows up again. With the spell once more cast, Wilby again finds himself turning from human to sheepdog to human with no control of his own.

This puts a damper on Wilby's campaign, and it creates a few headaches with the local dogcatcher as well. Slade takes a sadistic delight in his rival’s misfortunes until he gets a little shapeshifting comeuppance of his own.

The Shaggy D.A was the final directing effort of Disney veteran Robert Stevenson, who helmed nineteen films for the studio from 1957 to 1976, including Old Yeller, The Absent Minded Professor and Mary Poppins. While it wasn’t the surprise success its predecessor was, The Shaggy D.A. delivered the promised slapstick goods. Aside from Disney everyman Jones, the cast included supporting efforts from Keenan Wynn, Suzanne Phleshette, Tim Conway, Dick Van Patten and an unbilled Liam Dunn, who passed away during filming.

Movie Release History

1959 - The Shaggy Dog
1976 - The Shaggy D.A.

Movie Sub Categories


Movie Studio



Wilby Daniels Dean Jones
Tim Tim Conway
Betty Daniels Suzanne Pleshette
John Slade Keenan Wynn
Katrinka Muggelberg Jo Anne Worley
Raymond Dick Van Patten
Brian Daniels Shane Sinutko
Eddie Roschak Vic Tayback
Admiral Brenner John Myhers
Freddie Richard Bakalyan
Dip Warren Berlinger
T.V. Director Ronnie Schell
T.V. Interviewer Jonathon Daly
Howie Clemmings John Fiedler
Prof. Whatley Hans Conried
Dogcatcher Liam Dunn

Other Movie Links