Doctor Who

Doctor Who is a British science fiction television series produced by the BBC. The programme depicts the adventures of a mysterious alien time-traveller known as “the Doctor” who travels in his space and time-ship, the TARDIS, which normally appears from the exterior to be a blue 1950s police box. With his companions, he explores time and space, solving problems, facing a variety of foes and righting wrongs.

Doctor Who

Doctor Who from 1960s - present


Dr Who started with a very low budget. The cardboard sets made it famous for many years at it was all story line and very little money. But during the 60s and 70s it earned itself a cult following. When it was axed in 1989 it looked like it was gone forever. Then with a few glimpses in 1996 another nine years later it had a massive budget and a full revival and now is one of the BBCs most treasured programmes. Doctor Who has received recognition from critics with the BAFTA Award for Best Drama Series in 2006.


First Doctor William Hartnell 1963–1966
Second Doctor Patrick Troughton 1966–1969
Third Doctor Jon Pertwee 1970–1974
Fourth Doctor Tom Baker 1974–1981
Fifth Doctor Peter Davison 1981–1984
Sixth Doctor Colin Baker 1984–1986
Seventh Doctor Sylvester McCoy 1987–1989, 1996
Eighth Doctor Paul McGann 1996
Ninth Doctor Christopher Eccleston 2005
Tenth Doctor David Tennant 2005–2010
Eleventh Doctor Matt Smith 2010–onwards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *